Skip to main content
September 14, 2022
Question

Deleting vaults without losing their content

  • September 14, 2022
  • 3 replies
  • 126 views

A long time back i copied lots of 1Password entries into various vaults, but I never use them and they have just become visual clutter. I'd like to delete the vaults while preserving their entries – which look as though they ought still to exist elsewhere, but the message that comes up in the delete dialogue seems to imply that the content will disappear with the vault.


1Password Version: 8.9.4 Mac
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: macOS 12.6
Browser:_ Safari
Referrer: forum-search:https://1password.community/search?Search=Deleting%20vaults%20but%20not%20their%20content

3 replies

Jack_P_1P
1Password Employee
1Password Employee
September 14, 2022

Hi @ag0591:

Great question. Items are contained in vaults, so if you delete a vault, all the items inside are gone and not recoverable. Your best bet would be to move those items into a vault you're planning on keeping, ensure that everything as is expected in just that vault, then remove the old vaults.

Jack

September 14, 2022

Many thanks for the helpful response. Clearly I was wise to check first. I guess I'll just decide on one default vault and copy everything there. Once I'm sure the contents are safe I'll remove the unused vaults

andrew_l_1P
1Password Employee
1Password Employee
September 16, 2022

Hi @ag0591, on behalf of Jack, you're welcome! Collections are also an option if you'd like to manage which vaults you use regularly without having to delete them: Use collections to create custom groups of vaults

Let us know if you have any questions. 👍🏻