Feature Request: "Paranoid Mode"
I'd like to request a new feature that I rather snarkily refer to as "paranoid mode". (Feel free to rename it!) Here's a rough screenshot marked up to give you some idea of what I'm talking about. More description below the image:
The problem: if I accidentally get the 1Password app UI window displayed for any reason while another person is looking at my screen, be that in the office or via screen sharing, it's going to inadvertently show them a partial list of my most recently used accounts. Email addresses, names, domains, account vendors/websites, etc. It's an information disclosure vulnerability that's triggered, yes, entirely by human error, but a very easy error to make nonetheless. Even worse, this could have significant legal ramifications for the end user (not for Agile Bits of course, just the person using 1P).
Imagine the following scenario:
Let's say you have to demo some software to one of several clients you currently work with. You start up Zoom (or Teams, or whatever) and share only a portion of your screen. Then somehow you alt+tab, or maybe erroneously click, the app in your launcher/dock/start menu. Upon UI load, 1Password appears to display the list of accounts associated with whatever entry you clicked last in the far-left nav bar. And that's the problem: one wrong click and boom, you've now violated multiple NDAs by disclosing your client list to a third party! Kiss your job - and for some of us, your only place to live - goodbye!
(NB: The screenshot above shows the archive, but that's only because that's the last thing I was looking at before I closed the window. When I re-opened the window - 1P remained unlocked by the way per my configuration preference because reasons - it re-displayed that same list of things. This is totally normal, sane, expected behavior, but can be a problem in certain circumstances, like what I just described. This same behavior happens no matter what you click. I've tried to get this to default to an empty list of Favorites, but when favorites is empty it just goes back to the main category of all entries anyway.)
A proposed new feature could fix this: "paranoid mode"
Add a checkbox in the settings menu for "Paranoid Mode" with a description. Leave it OFF by default (opt-in) so as not to mess with people's existing workflows.
The idea here is, when the app window gets drawn on the screen, if 1P is unlocked or would otherwise display entries for any reason, instead have it display just one big button in the center of the screen, absolutely nothing else - no entries, nothing - that says something like:
"Paranoid Mode is ON: Click and hold this button to see your 1Password items."
Then the user would have to click and hold the left mouse button for, say, 3 seconds (make this configurable, as well as an option to hold down a user-defined keyboard combination instead of the mouse if the user desires) before that big button disappears and the app works as normal. When you close the main app window/display again, the app is once again still in paranoid mode, such that when you re-open/re-display that app UI window again, you have to click and hold again too if you want to see anything.
Imagine the interface for a game on XBox Series X or Playstation 5 or whatever. Sometimes you have to hold down square or X or Y or something if you want to loot the foe you just vanquished. Same thing here, and an animation to match that sort of flair/style would definitely go a long way in terms of user experience, aesthetics, and clarity as to what's going on when you hold that button down.
To be clear in my intent, I'm not at all criticising 1P or AB here in the slightest - this isn't a "you're doing it wrong and I'm mad!" post, far from it! This is just a friendly feature request that I'd like to ask for, because I'm certain somebody is going to shoot themselves in the foot with this eventually if they haven't already, and knowing myself, that could very likely be me. Granted the ramifications wouldn't generally be too dire, but that's a matter of luck, not intention; this sounds like a simple and fairly easy-to-implement feature that could protect a lot of people for years to come and differentiate the product substantially in what is an increasingly crowded market.
But most importantly, I just don't need my clients knowing my username for hello kitty island adventure! (Is that even still around? Asking for a "friend"...)
Thanks for anything you can do here! Oh, and if this is already possible and I'm just Doing It Wrong(TM), please tell me so I can correct my ignorance. Thank you!
1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
