Skip to main content
August 11, 2026
Question

Fidelity obfuscated username issue

  • August 11, 2026
  • 2 replies
  • 4 views

Fidelity (https://www.fidelity.com) cleverly obfuscates the login username by replacing the trailing characters with asterisks. So, for example, if your login is “123456789”, the web UI obfuscates it to “******789”.

1Password sees the obfuscated version and offers to save it. In subsequent login attempts, 1Password fills the Username field with the obfuscated text.

 

This issue isn’t new. It’s longstanding. I just hit it again, though, and figured I’d report it in case there’s something you can do about it. 

Thanks.

2 replies

Trevor_1P
1Password Employee
1Password Employee
October 2, 2026

Hi ​@zendnez,

I haven’t been able to reproduce this on my end, though it’s possible I could be trying on a different sign-in page. Could you share what URL you’re signing in at, as well as what web browser you’re using?

Additionally, could you confirm if you’re checking a “remember my username” box? If so, does unchecking that box resolve the issue, or do you still see the prompt after autofilling?

zendnezAuthor
October 2, 2026

Hi, ​@Trevor_1P.

 

This is a 100% repro for me. I do this:

  1. Navigate to https://digital.fidelity.com/prgw/digital/signin/retail. I’m using a Chromium-based browser on macOS
  2. Click in the Username field. The new 1Password login UI (the floating oval) pops up offering the correct login. I click it.
  3. I have auto-login disabled so the fields fill but I remain on the same page. I do not have “remember my username” checked
  4. What I see is that in the username field, my username is obfuscated by the web page. In this case, my username is my SSN. If my SSN were 123456789, I’d see ******789
  5. The cursor (the active field) is the password field. This is possibly important for the repro because when the cursor is manually put back into the username field, the contents get unobscured and show as 123456789
  6. With the cursor in the password field (which is where it lands automatically after 1Password fills both fields), I click Login
  7. I am logged in and 1Password immediately pops up the “Save login?" prompt and offers to save the login. If I allow it to update the existing login, it overwrites the username with the partially obfuscated version

As I mentioned, this happens 100% of the time. I can’t take screenshots or a video without disclosing PII. Hopefully this is enough for you to get a local repro.

Thanks.