Skip to main content
May 28, 2026
Question

Restrict permanent deletion to admins or family organisers only

  • May 28, 2026
  • 8 replies
  • 82 views

Suggestion to restrict permanent deletion to admins or family organisers only and send a notification about any deleted items before disappearing within 30 days

8 replies

Tom
May 28, 2026

Sounds solid - presumably in combination with an archive-only feature for non-admins?

MarghlaniAuthor
May 28, 2026

As an admin, I've noticed that a member moved items to their private account and then permanently deleted them. Unfortunately, I cannot prevent this, so we need more control over family shared accounts.

1P_Dave
1Password Employee
1Password Employee
May 28, 2026

Hello @Marghlani! 👋

Thank you for reaching out! If you're using 1Password Business then you can configure the Delete items permission for a vault: Manage permissions

With 1Password Families you can configure whether members of a shared vault have the ability to edit items in that vault (including deletion): Manage access

Would these options fit your needs? If they don't then I'd be interested in knowing more about your requirements here so that I can share with our product team. 

-Dave

1P_Dave
1Password Employee
1Password Employee
June 2, 2026

@Tom and @Marghlani 

It's not currently possible to restrict deletion in 1Password Families without removing the "Allow Editing" permission and I would be happy to file a feature request on your behalf to have the team consider adding more granularity here in the future. 

Just so that I understand the use case, is this to help prevent accidental deletions of items by family members? 

-Dave

MarghlaniAuthor
June 2, 2026

It would be helpful if the restriction happens for permanent delete or admin user accepts the delete, because currently no notification is received by the admin to inform him about that item, and 30 days have passed, and he can't do anything to restore that item.