Skip to main content
June 14, 2022
Question

Why are items moved between vaults listed in "Recently Deleted"? Bad security model!

Since well before 1Password 8, items that I move between vaults end up with a copy in recently deleted - this is REALLY confusing when listed with items that were really deleted. The items in the deleted folder seem redundant at best, but I've generally ignored the issue.

However, today I discovered how this is really a potential BIG security hole. For example, if I move an item to a vault I share with others, but I moved the item to to the wrong vault and moved it again to the correct vault, the "deleted" moved items remain accessible to users of the wrong vault. That requires me to take an extra step to empty the trash or permanently delete the specific items.

This same issue could occur if I expand the group membership on some vault, with the intent of moving a small subset of items out to a more secure / limited vault. Again, I have to manually issue "permanently delete" on the moved items.

Why is it that items moved need to be added to recently deleted at all? They were moved - just let them exist only in the destination vault. I don't need to be able to "recover" a copy of the item to the original vault.


1Password Version: 8.7.1
Extension Version: n/a
OS Version: macOS 12.4

17 replies

August 25, 2022

ABits Folks - any news on this? Do you even believe this to be a potential security concern as I and other see it?

1Password Employee
August 26, 2022

I don't have an update to share. Thus far this has not been identified as a high impact situation. I do personally think it is something that could use some additional exposure, if nothing else, and will continue to advocate for it as opportunity arises.

Ben

August 26, 2022

Thus far this has not been identified as a high impact situation.

That is a sad statement. We have clearly outlined situations in which this could lead the information leakage. In the most obvious case, someone who is the member of multiple accounts, e.g. an MSP situation, could inadvertently leave "moved" copies of credentials in the deleted folder of the wrong customer.

I will also claim that blaming the user is not an option here. The tool is simply doing something that most users will simply not expect. Heck, poll your own staff at ABits and I'll bet you a beer that half don't know this mis-feature exists in a product they work on and presumably use daily.

I urge you to think harder about the ramifications of this choice and how the reputation of the company could be adversely impacted if not addressed.

September 13, 2022

"bump" - this is still an issue, and one that I find surprising that ABits will not even acknowledge the potential negative security ramifications.

October 13, 2022

Another month, and not even an acknowledgement of the potential for leakage of sensitive information.

October 13, 2022

Wow, the current behavior is quite surprising! I'm so glad I found this thread. Thanks for reporting this issue, @esquared. You and @BobW are totally on-point. I would never have expected that a "move" operation would leave a copy in deleted items, but here we are... frustrating that I have to keep this security risk in mind.

October 14, 2022

Added to the list of reasons not to switch to 1Password at large org.