Skip to main content
Oct 29, 2026 10:10 AM UTC
Question

Copying items between 1Password accounts on macOS loses social login references, showing ‘missing item’

I used 1Password on macOS to migrate data. Specifically, I logged in to both accounts, selected all items in account A, clicked Copy from the right-click menu, and then switched to account B; the data was imported successfully. However, I found that some information is lost. For example, for items that use social account login, the sign-in method shows “missing item, This item has been moved or deleted.”

What would be the proper way to migrate everything perfectly?

 

1 reply

1P_Dave
1Password Employee
1Password Employee
Oct 29, 2026 8:37 PM UTC

Hello ​@crazywong! 👋

Thank you for the question! If you move or copy one or more linked items to a new vault, including a vault in a different account, the links to and from those items won’t be preserved in the destination vault.

That’s because these links rely on each item’s UUID, which is a unique identifier associated with that specific item. When an item is moved or copied to another vault, it’s recreated with a new UUID. Because the new UUID doesn’t match the one referenced by the linked item, the link no longer works. 

After moving your items, you can edit them and recreate the appropriate links for the Sign in with feature. I’m sorry for the inconvenience and hopefully this is something that can be improved upon in the future. 

-Dave