Skip to main content
August 20, 2026
Question

set 1password to "on a public or shared computer"

  • August 20, 2026
  • 2 replies
  • 0 views

I started a new job. On my work computer, i opened my synced profile on Chrome, then logged into the 1password Chrome extension. On that screen, there’s the option to indicate that I’m on a public or shared computer (which I am). I was in a hurry so I did not select this option, and would like to do so now.

How do I change my preferences to “on a public or shared computer”?

What benefits does this preference provide?

2 replies

1P_Dave
1Password Employee
1Password Employee
August 25, 2026

Hello ​@KazuT! 👋

Thanks for the question! The "This is a public or shared computer" option is there if you're using the 1Password website on a computer that you share with other people. Clicking the option will mean that your browser won't remember anything about your 1Password account after you close the page and you'll need to sign in all over again using your passkey and approval from a trusted device the next time that you want to access 1Password.com in that browser.

You can clear the option by deleting 1Password.com’s site data in your browser or clearing your browser’s history/cache/cookies. If you’ve signed into the browser extension, then this checkbox won’t affect that and the browser extension will continue to remember your account.

In general, I recommend that you only sign into your 1Password account on devices that you know and trust. 

-Dave

KazuTAuthor
August 26, 2026

So, how do I change my preferences to “on a public or shared computer”? Do I do it by deleting 1Password’s site data in my browser? How do I do that?​​​